Mythopoeic Challenge

The Mythopoeic Society is dedicated to the study and enjoyment of fantasy and mythic literature, especially the works of the Inklings, an informal literary circle at Oxford that included the likes of J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis and others. Each year the Society awards the best scholarly and literary achievements exemplifying “the spirit of the Inklings” with the Mythopoeic Award.

The challenge is to read seven books between JANUARY 1ST 2008 to DECEMBER 31ST 2008 from the list of Mythopoeic Award Winners. (See? All kinds of brilliant Fantasy books to choose from!) [EDIT: Becky requested that I broaden the challenge to include the nominees for the fantasy and scholarship, which gives you a lot more choices!]

Here are the rules:
Choose seven books from the
list of Mythopoeic Award Winners (or nominees, here for fantasy or here for scholarship).
Anything on the list is fair game, fiction or non-fiction.
Read the books between January 1st, 2008 and December 31st, 2008.
You may start anytime in 2008, but you must finish by the end of December 31st, 2008.
You may combine this challenge with other challenges.

My List
1971 - The Crystal Cave - Mary Stewart
1972 - Watership Down - Richard Adams
1994 - The Giver - Lois Lowry
1999 - Stardust - Neil Gaimen2002 - American Gods - Neil Gaiman
2005 - Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell - Susanna Clarke
2006 - Anansi Boys - Neil Gaimen

No comments :